Workflows Overview

What are Workflows?

Workflows are a virtual representation of your hiring process.  Workflows consist of a series of customizable stages. Workflows are created, then assigned to jobs. Once a candidate applies to the job, they can be moved through the active workflow stages and eventually moved to a final Hired or Not Hired disposition. 

The use of workflows gives you and your team easy visibility to where a candidate is in your hiring process. Additionally, you can add Workflow Helpers to your workflow stages to ensure that your hiring process is consistent while automating repetitive tasks and reminders.

When a candidate moves into a stage, JazzHR will ask if you want to perform any actions that you assign to that stage. Focus your time on hiring the right person, not the tedious, repetitive hiring tasks.

  • Assign hiring tasks to one or more team members via email notification.
  • Send new applicant replies, follow-up emails, and rejection notices.
  • Send prequalification or follow-up questions to a candidate.
  • Create reusable interview guides and assign them to a hiring stage.

Super Administrators and Recruiting Administrators can create and edit workflow templates. Any User who has the ability to edit a job can assign a workflow to a job and update that job's workflow. By default, any User who has access to a candidate can update their workflow status.

In order to make sure candidates are being properly tracked, you should always keep their workflow status updated. All candidates come into JazzHR in the "New" status. From there, you can change their status to one of the active stages or final dispositions.


Creating a Workflow Template

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Click Workflows.
  3. Click +Create Workflow.

Editing a Workflow Template

  1. Click Settings. 
  2. Click Workflows.
  3. Find the name of the Workflow Template.
  4. Click the pencil icon to Edit.
  5. To Add a stage to your Workflow Template, scroll to the bottom of the section to which you want to add a stage.
  6. Click +New Stage.
  7. To reorder your Workflow steps, click Reorder.
  8. To delete a Workflow step, hover over the step you wish to delete.
  9. You will see the option to Delete appear.

 

Selecting a Workflow Template as the Default for New Jobs

This will allow you to have your new Workflow Template automatically selected when creating new Jobs. This will not affect any current jobs.

  1. Click Settings. 
  2. Click Workflows.
  3. If you have not yet created your Workflow Template, do so now. See steps above.
  4. Click the action menu next to the workflow you'd like to make the default Workflow Template and select Make Default.

  

Assigning a Workflow Template to a Job

When creating a new job, you will see the Workflow drop down menu. The default workflow will already be selected, but if you need to assign a different Workflow Template to this job, select it from the menu.

New_job_gif.gif  

Changing a Candidate's Workflow Stage

In order to make sure candidates are being properly tracked, you should keep their workflow status updated. All candidates come into JazzHR in the New status. From there, you can change their status by doing the following:

  1. Click Candidates.
  2. Find the applicant for whom you want to change the status.
  3. Click on the Candidates name.
  4. On the candidate's profile, click on the drop-down menu and select the appropriate stage.

Workflow Templates and Job Workflows

Once a job is created, it inherits the stages and workflow helpers from the template you used to create it. By default, any changes you make to a workflow template will replicate to any jobs using that workflow template.

JazzHR also allows you to unlock a job workflow from the workflow template, thereby creating a standalone workflow specific to an individual job.

Note:  When you unlock a job workflow from the template, the action CANNOT be undone.  Doing so breaks the link between this job's workflow and the designated workflow template.  Once a job workflow is unlocked, future changes you make to the workflow template will not replicate to that job.  

Unlocking a Job From the Template

  1. Click Jobs.
  2. Click the Job title you wish to edit.
  3. Click Edit Job.
  4. Click Hiring Workflow.
  5. Click Actions
  6. Select Unlock from Template

  

From here, you can add, remove and reorder your job’s workflow stages.

  • If you wish to Add a stage to your workflow:
    • scroll to the bottom of the section to which you want to add a stage,
    • and click +New Stage.
  • If you wish to reorder your Workflow steps, click Reorder.
  • If you wish to delete a Workflow step:
    • hover over the step you wish to delete, and the option to Delete will appear.

Frequently Asked Questions

Am I able to tell which jobs are using a specific workflow template?

Yes.  To check which jobs are using a specific workflow template,

  1. Click Settings. 
  2. Click Workflows.
  3. Each workflow template will indicate how many jobs are using it.  If you hover over the indicator, you can view the specific jobs.

  

Can I hide old workflow templates that I no longer use?

Yes - you can hide them using the Archive function.  To archive templates you no longer use,

  1. Click Settings. 
  2. Click Workflows.
  3. Click the action menu next to the workflow you'd like to archive and select Archive.

  

What's the difference between Archiving and Deleting a workflow template?

Archiving a workflow template moves it out of the Workflow Templates list and so that template cannot be selected when creating new jobs.  Archived workflows can be recovered in the future if you desire.  Deleting a workflow template removes it from your JazzHR account forever.  Deleted workflows CANNOT be recovered.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk